## BEFORE THE BOARD OF SUPERVISORS OF THE COUNTY OF KINGS, STATE OF CALIFORNIA

\*\*\*\*\*\*\*

## IN THE MATTER OF AMENDING RESOLUTION NO. 20-079 ADOPTING COUNTY CAMPAIGN FINANCE CONTRIBUTION LIMITS\_/

## RESOLUTION NO. 20-079.1

WHEREAS, by approval of Resolution No. 20-079 on December 15, 2020 the Kings County Board of Supervisors ("Board") established campaign contribution limits applicable to candidates for the following County elective offices: Board of Supervisors, Sheriff/Coroner, District Attorney, and Tax Assessor;

WHEREAS, Pursuant to Government Code Section 24000(k), the County Superintendent of Schools is a County office and in Kings County is an elected position;

WHEREAS, the Board desires to make applicable the County's campaign contribution limits to all County elective offices including the Superintendent of Schools; and

WHEREAS, effective January 1, 2021, the Board has the power and authority under Government Code Section 85702.5 to establish within the County campaign contribution limits that are different from those established by the State.

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY RESOLVED as follows:

1. The definition of "County Elective Office" as adopted in Resolution No. 20-079 Section 2.B. is hereby amended to read as follows:

B. "County Elected Office" shall mean seats on the Board of Supervisors, Sheriff/Coroner, District Attorney, Tax Assessor and County Superintendent of Schools.

2. All other provisions provisions adopted by Resolution No. 20-079 shall remain in full force and effect.

The foregoing resolution was adopted upon motion by Supervisor <u>Neves</u>, seconded by Supervisor <u>Verboon</u> at a regular meeting held on the <u>14<sup>th</sup></u> day of <u>September</u> 2021, by the following vote:

AYES:	Supervisors Neves, Verboon, Valle, Fagundes, Pedersen
NOES:	None
ABSENT:	None

ABSTAIN: None

raig

Craig Pedersen, Chairman Kings County Board of Supervisors County of Kings, State of California

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have set my hand this <u>14th</u> day of <u>September</u>, 2021.

Cathinne beitrell

Catherine Venturella, Clerk of said Board